Self Motivated

Establishing your first startup is immensely exciting, and while you may feel 100% onboard, it can often be difficult to get others to share your enthusiasm. Don’t be too shocked when your friends and colleagues aren’t so keen on joining you on your magical journey into the wondrous world of startups.

I initially felt pretty discouraged when I couldn’t get friends and coworkers to sign onboard with me and my company of one. Couldn’t they see what an exciting opportunity this was? I didn’t understand why no one was willing to drop everything and join me.

It took me a while to realize that I was asking people to take a huge leap of faith. With families to support and bills to pay, many people weren’t comfortable taking such a big risk. I realized that I had to demonstrate my company’s value to people so that they’d feel more confident that our venture was at least semi-reliable.

I worked on setting and meeting goals, developing my business skills, and putting money back into my business so that I had real results to show potential team members. Once I had numbers to back up my claims, I was able to get the team together that I needed

The harsh reality is that around 80% of businesses fail, which doesn’t make for great odds. What’s worse is that as an entrepreneur, your roadblocks become public knowledge as family, friends, and acquaintances continue to ask, “so how’s that company of yours going?” You can’t imagine how fun Thanksgiving is.

Accept that you may fail, but instead of wallowing, learn from your missteps. Some entrepreneurs go through several failed startups before finding their golden ticket. It requires a degree of humility to accept education and insight from your mistakes, so check your ego at the door.

Finally, an entrepreneur can be tough, but the rewards are tremendous. People can tell you how good it feels to see your business win and thrive, but until you see it happen, it’s hard to really comprehend the sheer joy and satisfaction.

As I always say, if this seems plagiarized that’s because it probably is.  If you see something that’s your and should be removed let me know and I will remove it.  Cool Beans…

Leave a Reply

